International Conference 2011

About Rotterdam

Rotterdam is the second largest city in the Netherlands, after the capital, Amsterdam. It’s the largest city in the province of Zuid-Holland (South Holland).
The port of Rotterdam is the largest in Europe and was the world’s busiest port from 1962 to 2004, until it was overtaken by Shanghai.
Rotterdam is situated on the banks of the river Nieuwe Maas (‘New Meuse’), one of the channels in the delta formed by the Rhine and Meuse rivers. The name ‘Rotterdam’ derives from a ‘dam’ in the ‘Rotte’ river.

Rotterdam Harbour

On January 1 2006 (source: Statistics Netherlands), the municipality covered an area of 304.22 km² with a population of 588,500. It is part of a larger metropolitan area called Rijnmond (‘Mouth of the Rhine’) with a total population of about 1.6 million. In 1965, the municipal population of Rotterdam reached its peak of 731,000, but by 1984 it had decreased to 555,000 as a result of suburbanization.

Rotterdam consists of 11 submunicipalities: Charlois (including Heijplaat), Delfshaven, Feijenoord, Hillegersberg-Schiebroek, Hoek van Holland, Hoogvliet, IJsselmonde, Kralingen-Crooswijk, Noord, Overschie, and Prins Alexander (the most populous submunicipality with around 85,000 inhabitants). Two other areas, Centrum (‘Centre’) and Pernis, do not have official submunicipality status.

Rotterdam lies in the Zuidvleugel (‘South Wing’) of the Randstad (‘Ring City’) conurbation with 7.5 million inhabitants, the sixth largest metropolitan area in Europe (after Moscow, London, the Ruhr Area, Istanbul, and Paris). The Zuidvleugel includes Leiden, The Hague, Zoetermeer, Delft, Vlaardingen, Schiedam, Capelle aan den IJssel, Spijkenisse and Dordrecht, and has a population of around 3.5 million.

Map of Rotterdam: